This site requires JavaScript to be enabled

History of NC State University Wiring Standard


4.0 - Updated on 2023-12-06 by Alice Thurman

3.0 - Updated on 2023-11-28 by Alice Thurman

2.0 - Updated on 2022-08-04 by Alice Thurman

1.0 - Authored on 2022-08-02 by Alice Thurman

Prior to 1993

  • In the late 1980s, NC State Computing Center and Telecommunications realized the need to have one common standard for the intrabuilding communications wiring infrastructure installed in university buildings.
  • In 1990, they developed the NCSU Uniform Wiring Plan (1.1).
  • The standard consisted of the following basic components:
    • One common outlet for every dorm room, classroom, lab, office, etc.
    • A four-cable bundle connecting each outlet to a telecom room. This bundle consisted of the following:
      • One Category 3 cable for voice.
      • One Category 4 cable for data.
      • One RG58 coax cable for data.
      • One RG6 coax cable for video.
    • An enclosed raceway and conduit system to house these horizontal cables.
    • Telecom rooms are located strategically throughout each building.
    • A riser cabling system consists of a variety of twisted pair and coax voice, data, and video cables to interconnect the telecom rooms.
  • Buildings wired prior to 1993 were wired to the 1990 standard.


  • In 1994, the 1990 standard was revised (version 1.2) to accommodate the development of Category 5 data cabling and devices.
  • Buildings wired from 1993 to 1999 were wired in accordance with the 1994 revision.
  • Three additional outlet types were added later to accommodate specific applications that the original outlet cable bundle had not addressed:
    • Dorm Outlet (one CAT 3, two CAT 5, and one RG6).
    • Quad CAT 5 outlet. (Four CAT 5).
    • Fiber outlet (one four-strand multi-mode fiber).


  • In early 1999, the 1994 standard was revised (version 1.3) to align with the new UNC system-wide baselines.
  • This interim standard was used in 1999 until the Category 6 base standard was approved.
  • Only two types of outlets were defined by this standard:
    • Interim University Wiring Standard outlet (three CAT 5 and one blank).
    • Fiber outlet (one four-strand multi-mode fiber).


  • In 1999, a new wiring standard (version 2.0) was developed.
  • It is based on Category 6 cabling.


  • In 2011, a new wiring standard (version 3.0) was developed.
  • It is based on CAT 6A cabling and is the current standard.